PDA

View Full Version : Impulse 31 setup

sigma962
01-04-2012, 08:14 PM
Need some assistance w getting my new Impluse 31 up on the "pad" and keeping it there.

I know you can adjust the trim tabs, battery placement, prop strut angle...etc. Ive tried lots of combinations w no solid results.

The boat is all stock...running 2 venom 2s 30c 5000mah in series. Man made pond that I run on is smooth as glass, no chop.

Please give me some advice as to eliminate the porpoise effect...at least a trouble shooting guide.

Thanks.

Make-a-Wake
01-04-2012, 08:25 PM
I found that i actually had to give the strut/stinger some POSITVE to calm the propoising

sigma962
01-04-2012, 09:08 PM
Noob here in boats...that means moving the strut up as to make the prop closer to the surface?

Thanks.

Make-a-Wake
01-04-2012, 09:27 PM
Yep

stadiumyamaha
01-04-2012, 09:41 PM
on my impulse all it took was a small adjustment downward on the trim tabs. Before, it was really bouncing badly.

stadiumyamaha
01-04-2012, 10:16 PM
also make sure the tabs are above the bottom of the boat about an 1/8"

Back-lash
01-05-2012, 11:29 AM
I'm having the same issue with my boat. When you say small adjustment, do you mean just bend the tabs down a little bit? Or do you slide the tabs lower. Currently I have the tabs about 1/8 above the bottom. I was thinking of sliding them down a bit, but it sounds like that's the wrong thing to do.

stadiumyamaha
01-05-2012, 12:29 PM
Don't slide the tabs, leave them at about 1/8" and bend the tabs down. It doesn't take much so start with very small adjustments. I use some long flat blade vise grips so it makes contact with the entire surface of the tabs. You dont wand to bend them so that they are curved. You want to adjust the angle of the tab length in relation to transom.

Back-lash
01-15-2012, 09:43 PM
I added a little positive angle to the strut, and bent down the tabs, and the boat ran great. No porpoising at all. Thank you!

Make-a-Wake
01-15-2012, 09:52 PM