PDA

View Full Version : New Impulse 31 owner

SFC K
12-24-2011, 08:30 AM
Hello all! New here and have been into Ground RC’s for a long while so no rookie. I believe I have read every thread on here for the Impulse 31 and some of them twice. I did order the Impulse and from what I have read seems to be the right one for me. Unfortunately I am deployed until spring of next year and had the box shipped home. My wife is going to open the box and make sure all is well so when I get home I can take it out. I plan on using it for sport running and maybe dive into some racing action too later on.

I know I want to upgrade from the 3.5mm bullet connectors to the 5.5mm ones. I also want to get a couple of spare props and it seems that the X645 and 45X55 are the best fit for this boat. I have no experience balancing or sharpening props but have read the how to here by Andy Kunz. I’m just not sure if the environment that I am in will be advantageous for this task as I have no tools here.

I do have a couple questions that I did not see here and was wondering do I need anything else special to hook up 2- 2s 25-30C 5000mah lipos or does it come with the connectors? From the pictures I have seen it does not say and even the manual does not specify exactly what is required to hook up 2 2s batteries. All my batteries have Deans connectors installed and i know the ESC has deans connectors as well.

I know I will need to pull the flex shaft and lubricate it with marine grease. Is it a good idea to replace the stock flex shaft right away with the OSE upgrade or can I get by with the stock one for a bit?

Any way I think I have said enough for now. I am looking forward to experiencing the boating world of RC. Now if I can fast forward time. :wink:

Jeff

G-UNIT
12-24-2011, 11:45 AM
the boat is wired for lipos and the esc is set for lipos, the wires are set up to run the batterys in series.