PDA

View Full Version : What a let down

chisoxguy13
04-03-2008, 07:41 PM
Had my BJ come in yesterday only to learn after tearing out the battery trays and inserting the velcro and lubing the shaft that the ESC is probably fried. Have to wait another week to get in the water. Think I might go crazy. :thumbsdown:

obrien
04-03-2008, 09:12 PM
I hear ya on that. My stock esc went out the 2nd time I ran the boat.

chisoxguy13
04-04-2008, 07:55 AM
:help: Any advise on a new ESC? Have seen a couple, but not sure which one to get. I am running Venom 20C 5000mah lipos. They are sending a new stock one, but I am sure that is something I want to replace soon. Want to run the boat before I start deciding what other mods I want to make. I am new to this world and am like a sponge and there are no FE boat enthusiast in my area. Thanks for any advice.

obrien
04-04-2008, 10:11 AM
I was running a hydra 120 for a while on my boat with the ammo 2300 motor. However I don't think you need that much of a speed control. Just take a look through the site and see what other speed controls the guys are using. I like the hydra esc's because you can program them with a laptop very easily.

chisoxguy13
04-04-2008, 10:16 AM
Nice. Thank you. And the thing I said about wanting to run the boat before trying any other mods....... Ha Ha. Well I will run it stock first, but just ordered the Skater II system from Twisted. I'll let everyone know how it works when I get out there. Just liked the fact that it didnt' require any other holes for now. Have to get the antenna moved too.

Doby
04-04-2008, 10:18 AM
Get the stock one, run it and then decide weather to change it or not. You might be happy. Don't spend the money on a controller you may not need.

obrien
04-04-2008, 05:58 PM
only reason I suggested upgrading the esc, was to allow for upgraded motors in the future. But you are right, he may not want to upgrade.

chisoxguy13
04-04-2008, 10:12 PM