PDA

View Full Version : New To Hobby And.....

jabomano
12-07-2011, 08:10 PM
Hi all...

I'm new to rc boating and would like some input as to choosing a screaming fast electric runner as my FIRST boat....

The boat I finally buy will have to be RTR also.

I'll throw out a three models I've been considering:

Genesis
Sea Fire
Venom King Of Shaves

Any others you can add please do. I'd really like some guidance from you guys.

Thanks.

Ray
www.raybayer.com

Gimp
12-07-2011, 08:41 PM
The Proboat Miss Geico was my first boat. Either that or the Proboat Mystic would be a great starter.

From what I've read, the KOS's are RTR nightmares and the hull quality isn't that great. The Genesis is down right awesome (I run a Daytona which is basically the same thing), but it's not RTR. Can't say I've ever seen or heard of anyone with a HK Sea Fire.

What exactly are you looking for and what type of water are you running on? Racing or just sport boating?

jabomano
12-07-2011, 10:57 PM
Hi Gimp.

I won't be racing (at least not now) and the water will eventually be the fresh water lakes of Ft. Myers, Florida with the Gulf of Mexico beckoning in the distance. I say eventually because I now live in Pittsburgh but own a home in Ft. Myers but I won't be moving for about 12 months.

And no I don't want RTR nightmares...that's for sure.

Gimp
12-07-2011, 11:12 PM
If you like cats, I'll stand behind the 2 Proboats I mentioned before. I had my Geico for a few months, then sold it to have a custom Fighter Cat Daytona built.

The Mystic is shaping up to be the best bang for your buck in my opinion. All you'll need is a few 2s LiPo's and a charger to get up and running. The Mystic is the same as the Geico, just a little hotter electronics, offset rudder, and a stainless prop. Plus it uses Spektrum 2.4GHz radio system. Be sure to check out the tech section!

SirBudman32
12-07-2011, 11:14 PM
Hi jabomano.