PDA

View Full Version : Hydra 120 and 6s lipo?

markymizzle
04-01-2008, 11:25 AM
Well I am finishing up a R/C project, and my next one will be a SuperVee...

So I am wondering, I am about to purchase a second lipo, so I will have two 3s2p 8000HV packs...

I would like to make a SV crazy fast, and I was looking at the hydra 120/9XL combo everyone keeps talking about. But I only see people using a 5s1p lipo in there...

But would it be able to handle my two packs in series? I want to make the right purchase now so I can use the same lipo's in the SV....what would it take to run 6S lipo (esc wise etc.)?

(I know crazy fast means poor handling etc., but honestly, Im not going to be doing any races, I just want to make this thing a rocket on the water!)

Thanks for your help guys! I'm a total noobie here and can't wait to jump into a SV27! Just want to make the thing scary fast from the get-go

Doby
04-01-2008, 12:10 PM
Some people have had bad results with the Hydra 120 on 6s, I run one on 5s with a 9xl with no problems. I even also run a SV stock controller on 4s with a 9xl as well.

If your heart is set on a 9xl and 6S, go for the Hydra 240 and have the extra safety margin.

PS; a SV running more than about 45 MPH is approaching uncontrolable on anything but glass smooth water. Its not nessecarily fun.

markymizzle
04-01-2008, 12:16 PM
Do you think the 9xl would be able to handle the power of 6S and a Hydra 240? I want to make it crazy fast but not smoke the esc/batteries at the same time...any suggestions? (asides from keep it stock haha)

Doby
04-01-2008, 12:26 PM
It would be close, I have seen them run on 6s at our club and survive. Just keep in mind that when you go to extreams in setups, ,,,,,extream things happen that translate into $$$$$$$$$$$$.

Flying Scotsman
04-01-2008, 01:15 PM