PDA

View Full Version : Noob trying to pick a boat Impulse or Mystic??

Scooter B
11-11-2011, 02:17 PM
Hey Guys, I tried the search feature but could not find what I was looking for. I'm new here, been out of RC since the days of the Grasshopper, Hornet, lunch box, etc...

I'm new to RC boating, but have been running full size offshore boats for many years. I know the handling differences, rough water capabilities, etc of both the cats and the deep V's, but does this transfer to the smaller models?

I'm on a pretty good size lake that usually has at least a slight chop on it, almost never like glass. I plan on doing some mods to make it faster and want to know which one would suite my needs better. Which is faster? or capable of being faster?
Impulse 31 or Mystic 29?

Thanks!

Scooter B
11-12-2011, 10:59 AM
20 views and no one has an opinon on these two boats?

Let me try again...

Which one would you, the seasoned RC boat guy purchase?

LarrysDrifter
11-12-2011, 11:03 AM
I say the v hull since you have a bit of chop.

Rob DeAngelis
01-08-2012, 08:00 PM
I had the same problem with picking one.... after a week of reviews and some good feedback I chose the mystic...

desmobob
01-08-2012, 09:06 PM
My normal boating venue is a large lake that tends to be rough. I picked the Mystic and can tell you that when it's a little choppy on the water, you'll be doing a lot of retrieval/rescues! My next boat will be a deep vee, but I don't regret buying the Mystic cat one bit.

Take it easy,
desmobob

Back-lash
01-21-2012, 11:54 AM
I'm also new to RC boats, but have been running offshore fishing boats for a long time. Alot of that knowledge still applies. I was unsure about adjusting the tabs on my Impulse 31 and what a difference it made. I also run the boat in a canal that is rarely glass, but the Impulse runs like a champ there. You'll have a blast! Enjoy.

ejimbo4
01-21-2012, 01:22 PM
Impulse31!!! I love mine! Stock with just a prop upgrade and it is a blast!!

Darin Jordan