PDA

View Full Version : Gutted my Impulse....Here's what I'm doing!

ejimbo4
10-13-2011, 05:29 PM
I am new to FE Boats and have run 7 sets of packs through my Impulse and got the itch! Time to scratch! I have a second hull and my plan is to strip the hardware and gut the inside,lay Carbon Fiber, new motor/esc/prop, upgrade flex shaft,trim tabs and turn fins. So far I have removed the hardware and managed to get most of the wood out but have a couple questions. Here are some pics of where I am at so far...
My plan for the CF is to lay it from transom to the wood stringer in bow.......is that far enough forward? The bow seems stiff enough ...it is from the stringer back that has all the flex. I am leaving the stuffing tube box,esc mount and motor mount in but I am considering taking motor mount out and putting something different in there......any advice on that? The carbon fiber came in yesterday and the Seaking 180A Esc showed up today so now I am hunting a motor. I am wanting to run 5s2p or 6s2p in parallel for weight and run time and I just need to know if I am heading the right direction of thinking? My end goal is I want in the 50-60 ish range but want to keep cool temps.. I really do appreciate anyone that chimes in with some advice!

dana
10-13-2011, 05:45 PM
i would just replace everything including motor mount. leaving the stock stuffing tube would be ok and take out teflon and run 3/16, thats if it has 1/4 brass. i dont own this hull so i dunno. as far as motor? somthing in the 1700kv range i would think, which brand depends on your budget. make sure you sand the hell outta the inside awith 80 grit, then use finishing resin to put in the carbon =)

ejimbo4
10-13-2011, 06:57 PM
Cool, I will remove the motor mount and servo mount and get it all sanded down real good. I ordered a CF kit and it came with the resin and hardener. I have never worked with CF but I have done so much reading on here about how to do it that I feel like I have!

ejimbo4