PDA

View Full Version : Flex cable loose strand

desmobob
09-29-2011, 09:38 AM
After four or five outings with my ProBoat Mystic 29, I have developed a loose strand (just 1/2" or so) at the motor end of my flex cable. I'm new to RC boating and I'm wondering if I'm over-tightening the collet....

Anyway, is the flex shaft toast (I already ordered a new one), or should I degrease it and silver solder the end? Is it even possible to get all the grease out so it can be re-soldered?

Thanks for any advice,
desmobob

Steven Vaccaro
09-29-2011, 09:50 AM
You may be able to solder it.
Clean it with denatured alcohol and then sand and clean again.

T.S.Davis
09-29-2011, 09:58 AM
This reminds me. I have never had any success getting solder to flow onto a flex shaft. Anybody know some tricks?

Steven Vaccaro
09-29-2011, 10:05 AM
This reminds me. I have never had any success getting solder to flow onto a flex shaft. Anybody know some tricks?

If its black cable you will need a torch. If its gold cable you need a 40 watt iron for .098, .130 and .150, a 80 watt iron works better with .187.
I use the cheap weller irons. this one is great for thick wire and .187 cable http://www.all-spec.com/products/SPG80L.html

detox
09-29-2011, 10:09 AM
Steve, Thanks for the tip.

longballlumber
09-29-2011, 10:15 AM
Terry,

I use a HD Weller soldering GUN (not Iron). http://www.cooperhandtools.com/brands/CF_Files/model_detail.cfm?upc=037103475428

I also use the Stay Brite brand of solder. It comes with a acid type flux. It really helps to cut the grease and oil. Make sure you use a wet rage or some water to neutralize the acid when your done.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXFS75&P=ML

Later,
Mike

martin
09-29-2011, 10:17 AM