PDA

View Full Version : 30" Cat Build up

calcagno45
03-18-2008, 07:09 PM
Hey guys,

I finally got everything in to build my 30" Cat(has standoff). I have a few question now.

I'm using the Octura Inline Hardware kit. When I mount the kit to the standoff, when should the skeg/flex cable be position, even with the bottom of the tunnel or sponsons?

Also I'll be running a 9xl, will I need to reinforce where the hardware is mounted? and if so how do I go about it with it being in the standoff?

Next, I was to paint the hull over. Should I get everything munted how it like, disassemble and then paint? or should I paint the hull first?

I'll get some pics up as soon as I can.

Thanks for the help and please follow along with me, its my first build.:help:

txboatpilot
03-18-2008, 10:15 PM
Hey guys,

I finally got everything in to build my 30" Cat(has standoff). I have a few question now.[/QUOTE]
I'm using the Octura Inline Hardware kit. When I mount the kit to the standoff, when should the skeg/flex cable be position, even with the bottom of the tunnel or sponsons?

Install the hardware so that the strut bottom, is flush with the bottom of the sponsons.... Lay the hull flat on a table, set the hardware up so the bottom of the strut is level and sitting on the table.. This is a good starting piont.

Also I'll be running a 9xl, will I need to reinforce where the hardware is mounted? and if so how do I go about it with it being in the standoff?
Next, I was to paint the hull over. Should I get everything munted how it like, disassemble and then paint? or should I paint the hull first?

Just make a back plate out of some 1/8 ply... install it in the stand-off on the inside for support,,, Just use 20min epoxy...
Mount up the hardware, then disassemble and then paint...

I'll get some pics up as soon as I can.
Thanks for the help and please follow along with me, its my first build.:help:

What colors are you going to paint it??

calcagno45
03-19-2008, 01:15 AM