PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions - Just got an Impulse 31

texas347
09-13-2011, 11:41 PM
I just picked up an Impulse 31 - What do you guys recommend for flotation in the hull? How is the range on the stock radio?

I too have about 2-3mm of play in the rudder but will attempt the fix listed in the other thread. I have an X445 from Chris at Dasboats on order and Gens Ace lipo's on the way. Can't wait!

martin
09-14-2011, 03:42 AM
Pool noodles.

ejimbo4
09-14-2011, 03:33 PM
I am new to this too and only got to run mine for 4 minutes before I had knee surgery so I have been down for 3 1/2 weeks now but I have been doing suggested stuff to it that I read on this forum. Pool noodles for flotation,water in-let in rear of boat instead of just tubeing running through hole, up graded to 5mm bullets on everything, water proofed all electronics,loc-tite on all screws and nuts that need it and ground a small flat spot in flex cable for set screw to get good bite. I have to say that the four minutes I got to run it were awesome!!! I ran it stock with 2- 2cell 5000mah 40c turnigy packs and a x445 prop and my jaw dropped this thing is sweet and the radio range was great no problems for stock equipment. Reason I only ran it 4 minutes is because I still had deans connectors and small bullets between ESC/motor and it got a little warm so I just shut it down and figured I would have some soldering to do while recovering! Now I can't wait! My friend said he will take me out on his pontoon boat so we can check mine out because my leg is still in a brace and I can't get in my kayak yet. I hope you enjoy yours but if you have time while your waiting I would consider new connectors to keep the heat issues down with the bigger prop.

texas347
09-15-2011, 11:45 PM