PDA

View Full Version : HPR C5008 185cm prop size dilemma... Any suggestion???

PETERPAN
08-02-2011, 10:01 PM
I just recently bought a HPR C5008 185cm all carbon fiber hull from Switzerland and yes it did cost me an arm and leg but what is a guy without toys???? This bad girl will be powered by 2 Lehner 3060/10 and 2 12S/3P 4000 Lipos. I'm kind of new to RC power boating so I'm having a dilemma on which prop size to use as my "starting point prop". I know every boat has it's own "favorite prop" so I wanted to use my starting point prop as a guide to finding the favorite prop. Ideally I want to go with a 3 blade but I'm totally lost on diameter and pitch. Anyone familiar with big euro cat please help?

Boaterguy
08-03-2011, 03:43 PM
I don't know how well a 3 blade will perform on a twin cat. You could go with 5 Bladers for a scale look, but two blades will be your best bet.
I don't know good dimensions for props, someone will most likely be able to help

ManuelW
08-03-2011, 06:40 PM
Hello Peterpan,

when I read what you write I would not think about props but about getting enough flotation. Imho 12S3P per engine is WAY too much for the boat. Normally a 12S1P 5000mAh 40C Lipo is enough, for longer runtimes maybe a 12S2P 4000mAh Lipo is okay but 12S3P is an overkill.

Best regards,
Manuel

johnson22456
08-18-2011, 02:48 PM
Octura x457 right and left should put you where you want to be as far as speed goes. You could start with a x450 r&l but that's probably not enough prop for a cat that size. You could have a set of x457s cut down to 55mm or so. The only bad thing about twins is your limited by what props are available. Abc has some bigger props with higher pitch you might want to look at also.

ManuelW
08-18-2011, 06:11 PM
maybe most important question is: how fast do you want to go?
LMT 3060/10 on 12S is not a really hot setup in my eyes, still enough power to achieve some serious speeds. And which ESC's do you want to use?

best regards,
manuel

PETERPAN