PDA

View Full Version : Joysway seadrifter driving me flipping nuts

flipper
07-18-2011, 06:25 PM
Hi all,

I am hoping you guys can point me in the direction of some trimming tips that can save my rescue boat some work. I have a Joysway Seadrifter and the problem is it doesn't like to stay in/on the water, it enjoys a good flip, and seldom lands right side up.

I have attached some pics of the boat and a video of it on top form.

Please try and resist suggestions like, get a bigger boat, calmer lake, etc. cos I wont be beaten/can't. Although if physics insists what can you do !

Dx8sIoGve08

flipper
07-18-2011, 06:26 PM
Final pic of the offenders bottom

Stinger9D9
07-18-2011, 06:47 PM
I'm by no means an expert, but I'd try lowering the depth of the strut. That should raise the transom of the boat a bit - and lower the front - so not as much air gets under the hull.

Peregrine
07-18-2011, 06:55 PM
It doesn't look like it is blowing over, it looks to me like it is a torque spin. Is it happening under acceleration? Looks like it needs more side to side stability. So, maybe the strut lower will be a good start place, if not, how about trim tabs?

flipper
07-18-2011, 07:04 PM
It happens equally when turning and when flat out, and not as often, when accelerating, despite my videos evidence. Edit... On second thoughts it maybe is related to changes of throttle, I would have to wait till my next outing to be sure, but re-watching the video I can see how it would bring that conclusion.

Apologies for the newbieness, the strut being part of the bracket that adjusts the ride height of the prop ? Assuming yes, do I always keep the thrust angle of the prop parallel to the large flat section of the hull (the part between what I would call the side rails) ?

Trim tabs, no problem, try the strut 1st though ? Then tabs for lateral stability ? Assuming it is torque do I just put one trim tab on ?

Rumdog
07-18-2011, 07:19 PM