PDA

View Full Version : How Proping Up Effects Motor/Esc Temps

penz
07-12-2011, 01:26 PM
From my experience with land riggs gearing up will normally have more of an impact on motor temps than esc. I'm still new to boating and I'm guessing the same does not apply. With a 1.14x42 prop my esc is running around 120 on 4s with a 1900kv motor. I'm. Going to be throwing on a x442 prop and are concerned/curious how much the change in pitch will effect my esc temps. Of course the best way to find out is to just run it and see, but untill then any thoughts?

Doby
07-12-2011, 03:08 PM
Increasing pitch and prop size generally will always put more load on your setup resulting in more heat.
Run a lap...bring boat in,,,check temps....repeat several times.

penz
07-12-2011, 06:48 PM
Yeah that's what I figured. Is one lap enough to warm up the electronics enough? I would think like a few speed runs, and by that I mean 5 sec full throttle.

By the time I get the boat out the water and the tape off the hatch to check esc temp I would say close to a min has gone by. During that min would the esc be cooling off because its not in use? Or would the temp be higher due to residual heat and no water flow?

siberianhusky
07-12-2011, 07:18 PM
those two props have the same pitch the number prop will have more lift that the x series prop. There shouldn't be much difference in load between the two, the difference would result in the hull running differently, depends on the boat setup.
If it's a tfl 1442 then it's an octura x442 copy. I've worked on a few tfl props now and really like them.

AlanN
07-12-2011, 07:30 PM