PDA

View Full Version : New to the forums and RC boats.

EdgeX600
06-26-2011, 10:16 PM
Hello everyone, just joined and wanted to ask a few questions.

I've been looking into getting an RC boat for some time now, and since all my other RC products are Traxxas (T-Maxx3.3, Summit) I figured i check out the Spartan.

After doing some research i noticed alot of people are having some serious issues with them.

I noticed tower hobbies doesn't list any in stock so was wondering is traxxas currently fixing the issues with it? or will i still have to modify it?

I probably wont tackle LiPo's right off the bat as im just getting into electrics and dont really think im ready for all the power the LiPos put out. so my question is on the stock 2 3000mah packs whats the average run time of the boat? would i be able to push more run time out of it, if i went with a 5000 or 6200 mah pack?

I did see one in my LHS today when i went to get a driveshaft pin for my T-Maxx, i almost bought it eventhough it was blue and not red, but they wanted like 430 for it, when its listed at 389 with 60 dollars off on tower right now.

So Should i wait for it to be in stock or should i find another boat all together?

the5
06-26-2011, 10:53 PM
Get it from Tower. When they come in stock they will be with V2 Motors and cheaper.

EdgeX600
06-26-2011, 10:59 PM
Get it from Tower. When they come in stock they will be with V2 Motors and cheaper.

Thank you for the reply, im assuming the new Motor will be better then the current one the boat comes with?

the5
06-26-2011, 11:03 PM
Yes it will. You can tell the new mottor by the Matte finish and Big silver front part or endbell.

the5
06-26-2011, 11:05 PM

dag-nabit
06-27-2011, 11:17 AM