PDA

View Full Version : Just got my HW 180 and need alittle help

hyp7
06-20-2011, 08:11 PM
Here goes, I have a used Ul-1 that didnt come with an esc and was told to get the hobbywing 180 would be a good esc. So I bought one and the programming box. I would like to run 4s. I could use a little help in setting it up. Is it better to run 1-4s or 2-2s in series. The boat has a stock motor and hardware. I would like to use reverse if I could. I did test the boat with a brushless slash on 2s, I did get it to plane and go but was kinda slow. I dont race so this is just for play. Im new to boats but not rc, I race a losi 8e with a castle mamba on 5s and kinda know electric but there seams alot more to boats and dont want to mess anything up.
Any help would be great.
Thanks Hyp

dana
06-20-2011, 08:22 PM
two 2s will be fine. 4s packs dont fit in the ul-1 unless its been cut up anyways

Alexgar
06-20-2011, 08:26 PM
Also fitting the esc is gonna be tight it's a little tall I opted for a swordfish 120

dana
06-20-2011, 08:29 PM
Also fitting the esc is gonna be tight it's a little tall I opted for a swordfish 120

i agree. or even a seaking 120

hyp7
06-21-2011, 03:47 PM
Thanks for the replies. Problem is I just bought the 180esc.

skellyo
06-21-2011, 03:55 PM
2 x 2S and DO NOT use reverse

electric
06-21-2011, 04:09 PM
Hmmm.. Yes two 2s batteries are "normal" for a UL-1. That is what the boat is set up to run. You will find it to be very fast if you are new to all of this. So figure out where you are going in your head in advance of pulling in the trigger and be in a big body of water. Chuckle. Remember always think turn right, imagine a clockwise circle with some straights in between.

Do not expect left turns to do much at all. You will be thrilled if you have never driven a boat like this before. Just give yourself a lot a room, a lot of them get run ashore on their first day because of the speed.