PDA

View Full Version : Shockwave 26BL Vs. Fastech?

wagerja
05-20-2011, 02:29 PM
Ok here's the deal. I'm relatively new to RC boating... mostly planes til now.

I have a BJ26 BL, LOVE IT. a pair of BL modified Mini-Vs, and I'm building a BL NQD Tear Into, but I sometimes would like to run a boat down at the marina on a large near by river. The water conditions there are rough, wind blown chop and boat wakes most of the time. BJ+Waves= NO FUN. So I'm looking to get a Deep-V hull boat.

I know bigger would be better but considering my cost limitations a 24" to 33" boat is going to have to work. Not much more then $300, less would be better.

I would buy this boat if I could ever find it in stock.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idproduct=13768

So I've kinda narrowed it down to SW BL or the Fastech, unless someone here has a better idea. I ruled out the SV27R based on the fact that it's ~$300 boat that I will have to buy a new ESC for right out of the box because I only use Lipos. They really should have a Lipo capable ESC, at least as an option.

SW 26 BL
Pro: uses one Batt of a type and size I use and have. = more runs before recharging.
Has a well sealed hull=no hatch tape. (One of the only things don't like about RC boating is messing with hatch tape)
Lower cost

Con: Stearable outdrive (why oh why does PB still do this)
Touchy ESC that has been know to blow when "thinking about" changing the prop.
Flat ride pad that will limit handling and stability at top speed if modified.

Fastech
Pro: uses the Batts I have for the BJ
Proper strut and Rudder Hardware
Uses the same 642 prop as the BJ
Potential to be very fast

Con: higher price
Uses two Batts = more charging at the marina which can be a pain.
Hatch tape!
Delicate trim and wind screen that may take a beating jumping wakes.

I’m leaning towards the SW at this point but welcome Any and all input.

yellowbird
05-20-2011, 09:38 PM