PDA

View Full Version : help selecting a mini catamaran

miles
02-01-2008, 07:55 PM
any help highly appreciated. so what im looking for is fast bl/lipo setup that looks somewhat realistic. the boats in question are: HOPF mini cat 14.3"x6.5", H&M Drifter Micro(great looks), MHZ Micro Iceberg, BBY Micro Scat (maybe the Carbon Fiber version). What are the good, the bad, and the uglies of each? Im new to boats but not rc 2 planes ,3 helis,and about 15 or so cars trucks from brushless micro-t's to a stroked and piped baja 5b gas and everything in between, oh and sadly a proboat blackjack 26 bl from what iv'e read not the best but it is my first boat and dang It IS Fast for a RTR. JUST SO YOU KNOW STOCK IS NEVER GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME. I just cant help myself. its a problem i know! I would like something stable that still turns well. I also am looking for around40+MPH. I like the looks of the drifter it looks very scale and sleek. also seen a dual drive setup here somewhere and steven has one with a single that looked good. The bby scat looks to have not so good of hardware (at least from my view it looks a little unfinished and cheesy) but if it works great then o.k.. I don't particularly like the double bubble cockpit on the Iceberg but if its a better boat then i can manage the look. The HOPF looks o.k. and it is smaller than the others which i like but how small is to small. I have a mamba 25 controller already so if dual drive isnt to bad id like to go that route but this is my first build.

Avanti
02-01-2008, 08:15 PM
I have a scat cat but I have not built it yet. nice looking hull though

SJFE
02-01-2008, 08:24 PM
I'll put my 2 cents in for the MHZ Micro Iceberg.

Fluid
02-01-2008, 09:52 PM