PDA

View Full Version : Castle HV240 questions

woodster
03-14-2011, 08:13 PM
Hey guys just received my Castle 240HV ESC and was wondering a couple of things.

1. Do I need to prep it at all for installation? It has shrink wrap around the outside but where the wires come out it's pretty exposed. I just wonder if I need to worry about moisture getting in there and what to do about it if anything?

2. There are 8 water tubes going through the ESC, 4 on each side. Do all 8 need to be plumbed with a water feed? I would assume if so you just plumb them into eachother back and forth and then have one inlet and one outlet?

3. Do you guys plumb the ESC first, then run the ESC outlet water to the motor and out of vice versa? Meaning the ESC gets cooled first, then water runs from ESC to the motor and out the boat. Or is it best to run two water pickups, one for each the ESC and motor?

Sorry for the dumb questions, I'm a newbie to FE boats, but i've been into brushless car stiff for while. Thanks for the help!

LarrysDrifter
03-14-2011, 08:29 PM
All 8 need to be plumbed.Cool the speedo first then the motor.You can cool them separate if you wish-its jut personal preference.As far as the open ends on the esc,they are fine.If you want to add a little insurance liberally spray both ends with Corrosion X and let it sit at least over night.Youre jumping right in the FE world with a HV esc and a 2215,arent you?

woodster
03-14-2011, 08:40 PM
All 8 need to be plumbed.Cool the speedo first then the motor.You can cool them separate if you wish-its jut personal preference.As far as the open ends on the esc,they are fine.If you want to add a little insurance liberally spray both ends with Corrosion X and let it sit at least over night.Youre jumping right in the FE world with a HV esc and a 2215,arent you?