PDA

View Full Version : Time to completely re do the Widowmaker!!

JackBlack26
12-22-2010, 09:49 AM
Hey guys. This is my first time attempting to do this much on a boat. Implementing most of what I have learned here. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I will update this thread as I go along.

I got this boat for $90 from Hobbymart on Ebay. It had a burnt ESC and the motor went shortly after a few runs. I love the size and build of the hull but the placement of the electronics is horrible:thumbsdown:. The motor sits too high up and too far forward. I believe that's the reason why it porpoises the way it does, which is everyone main complaint with this one. I didn't want to sell the boat so I figured I would try and put the motor where I think it needs to be, around 27%. It used to sit at over 50%! I don't know yet if the battery will sit just above the motor coupling in a tray I layed out of fiberglass or if I will run 2, 2200 2S LiPos like pictured, for a total of 4400mah in parallel, to keep the COG as low as possible. The servo will lay on the hull and the ESC to the opposite side of the servo.

Here is a video of how the boat ran before with the stock motor. Wasn't too bad in a straight line but I don't think the boat was engineered to turn while on power. It was like running a slalom course in an F350 with a 8" lift:doh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0kbUc4gHWM

You can see everything was very high centered. It was ridiculous how far up and forward the motor was placed
http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t72/rlopez75/DSC00990.jpg

I layed 2 layers of glass underneath the motor mount then glassed over the mount, held just at the right angle, and let her dry over night. I used some 43mmx3mm o-rings to fit the Pro Boat cooling ring around the 36mm 6XL motor. The XL motor is a beast in this thing but it's just in there for now. I think I will end up going with an Ammo 36x50-3300kv since this is a 2S configured boat.