PDA

View Full Version : Oldie but Goodie, VS1 Build

Chilli
12-01-2010, 10:17 PM
Well after converting what I thougth was a FE ready Woodstuff I discovered I'm pretty good at ripping apart brand new tunnel hulls. With the popularity of the Spec Tunnel class, I cant for the life of me fiugure out why no one has come up with a FE ready hull for racing. Anyhow I decided to get my son out of novice class for next year and build him a VS1 Tunnel. Even though it's not the newest tunnel out there, I understand it's relatively easy to set up and drive. And it can still win races. Whats not to like about that.

I studied every VS1 build I could find on OSE and RRR and this is what I came up with. I think it came out pretty good. I used 1/8 ply on the sides and ran it all the way back to the transom for extra strenght. I carved out the deck to get the battery down low and left a nice perch toward the transom whe the controller will sit. To even out the bottom of my battery box "where the original servo compartment was", I placed a layer of 1/16 inch balsa to fill the gap before laying some 1/16" ply across the bottom. I had to make the lid out of two pieces of 1/8" ply because I ran out of long pieces and didnt want drive 45 minutes to the LHS and spend $19 on another big piece of plywood. One last thing I did was to round the front tips of the sponsons with a belt sander. I think it looks much nicer than the square tips. HS645MG servo is on the way. I'll mount that next and order a OS lower.

Whats the best way to get the finish of the hull? Paint remover? Sand paper?

HOTWATER
12-01-2010, 10:51 PM
Beautiful work bro!! I like the 1 tube deal for the motor/ ESC wires to go through...much better than having three chances for leaks!! Are you planning on painting it? What kind of finish is on there now?

Chilli
12-01-2010, 11:14 PM