PDA

View Full Version : Mean Machine Build!

Kevinlei324
11-11-2010, 03:23 PM
Hey, I'm relatively new to FE boats. This is the first boat that I'm building completely from the ground up (aside from the purchased hull). I bought all the parts I need from Steve. I'm aiming to make a boat that would go low 50's mph. This is what I have ordered:

Mean Machine 29.5"x 11" Hull
2 Venom Lipos: 4s 35c 5000mah (Specs from Steve's advice)
Swordfish 200
Leopard 4074 2200kv

The configuration I was recommended to run the boat at is 4s2p. I was told that some batteries may not be able to handle such a high discharge (35c), and can cause issues for the ESC.

Does anyone have any advice on a setup?
I have an Octura x637 Prop right now, but was told that the x442 would be a better start.

Any suggestions on the prop and battery setup? I'm worried that the total output of the 4s2p setup with 35c 5000mah batteries would destroy the ESC. Please help! Thanks!

blackcat26
11-11-2010, 06:49 PM
A high discharge rate of the batteries is a good thing not a bad thing. It won't hurt at all unless you do not have enough "juice" to supply the esc/motor. Both those props are good starting points in my opinion. The are almost identical in their overall pitch measurement. It sounds like you are on the right track my friend. Welcome to the Forum.

Kevinlei324
11-11-2010, 07:28 PM
Thanks for your reassurance! :biggrin:

But here is what I understand from the prop difference:
Although the both props have extremely similar pitches, the x442 is LARGER. Larger props are better for helping the boat get on plane.:sinking-guy:

Chilli
11-11-2010, 07:46 PM