PDA

View Full Version : Lipo Vs Ni-mh

Simon170
10-17-2010, 03:05 PM
Hi guys, I'm new to lipo's and need some help. Heres my situation:

I have just bought an Aquacraft 2030KV motor and 7011 ESC http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=dh-aqcom-2030
I need to sort out supplying juice, I was going to run 2 Ni-mh 7 cell packs to get 16.8 volts..
But now I'm looking at Lipo's (I'm new to these) but if I only run 2 x 7.2 packs I'll only get 14.4 volts, and if I run 11.1 volts packs I'll have to use a BEC as you have to use one above 20 volts I believe... which I just cant be bothered with as its another battery to sort out.
So heres my choices...

1) 2 x 7 cell Ni-mh packs 16.8 volts

2) 2 x 2 cell Lipos 14.4 volts

3) or maybe... 2 x cell lipos 18.5 volts each, but wired Parellel, not series like the normal ESC setup

any help you can offer would be great, as I'm a little lost... things have changed since I was last into RC, when 2000mah cells were the latest thing lol!

Many thanks,
Simon.

kookie_guy
10-18-2010, 08:44 AM
This is a great opportunity to walk away from NIMH. They simply don't have the power output that FE boats require. Lipo is the way to go.

Consider this, the 16.8v from your nimh packs will QUICKLY drop to well below 14.8 (2s lipo is 14.8, not 14.4), because they simply can't supply the current you will need. Your packs will get VERY hot, and likely die pretty quick.

The beauty of lipos is that they can supply the current draw. That means no voltage drop. So you are getting a solid 14.8 volts out of the packs.

So to answer....

1) ditch that option, sell off all your nimh, and get on the lipo train. They are really cheap nowadays.