PDA

View Full Version : 2s2p vs 2s1p

kookie_guy
10-15-2010, 12:55 PM
Is there any difference in performace/safety/charging of a 2s1p vs a 2s2s pack? Here's the ones I'm asking about...

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=14989

They are the only 40c ones that are available at the US warehouse.

domp444
10-15-2010, 01:24 PM
I'm no battery professional, but the battery should work just fine. All it is is 2 batteries in one case running parallel, and in both of those batteries there are 2 cells running in series. All it is doing is combing two 2500mah packs to make one 5000mah pack. I don't see a problem!

kookie_guy
10-15-2010, 03:30 PM
I'm no battery professional, but the battery should work just fine. All it is is 2 batteries in one case running parallel, and in both of those batteries there are 2 cells running in series. All it is doing is combing two 2500mah packs to make one 5000mah pack. I don't see a problem!

I agree, my only concern is that are both of those 40C rated? Or are they 20C each, and hobbyking does not realize that the C rating is not doubled when you put it in parallel. Because then it would still be 20C.

domp444
10-15-2010, 03:39 PM
I agree, my only concern is that are both of those 40C rated? Or are they 20C each, and hobbyking does not realize that the C rating is not doubled when you put it in parallel. Because then it would still be 20C.

Very good point!

kookie_guy
10-21-2010, 11:29 AM
Anybody elese with any insight? Perhaps people who own them and can confirm the 40C rating. I e-mailed hk with the technical question. Let's see if they actually understand what I'm talking about. lol

driftah
10-25-2010, 01:24 AM
the c rating on those batteries tends to be a bit overrated imo maybe about 75% of the number possibly

chuff
10-28-2010, 04:49 AM