PDA

View Full Version : teflon.....stuffing tube

hammertime
04-16-2007, 05:36 PM
should i use the teflon that comes with the flex shaft.... or should i not use it ....opinions??

saleens7
04-16-2007, 06:55 PM
yes........

Mich. Maniac
04-16-2007, 07:55 PM
If you read tips on how to make stuffing tube, Steven from OSE says he doesnt. I didnt plan on using it except to line up my tubes. then pull them out after they are in place and you know your tubes are centered on your flex shaft. Im no pro so just repeating what ive read

Fluid
04-16-2007, 08:56 PM
I haven't used teflon for at least ten years. It just isn't necessary unless you have no idea where your strut will be. I use plain K&S brass tubing run from 1/2" behind the motor coupler into the strut nose. Contrary to most of what I read from so-called "experts", you do not need to aneal the brass. I have never worn out a brass tube from either cable or wire, oval or SAW racing. I do make sure to use a good lubricant....not sewing machine oil. But teflon is more forgiving in the installation, it wears out, gets wrapped around the cable, and causes more driveline drag.... ;)

hammertime
04-17-2007, 01:15 AM
ok thanx guys.

Steven Vaccaro
04-17-2007, 07:05 AM
I haven't used teflon for at least ten years. It just isn't necessary unless you have no idea where your strut will be. I use plain K&S brass tubing run from 1/2" behind the motor coupler into the strut nose. Contrary to most of what I read from so-called "experts", you do not need to aneal the brass. I have never worn out a brass tube from either cable or wire, oval or SAW racing. I do make sure to use a good lubricant....not sewing machine oil. But teflon is more forgiving in the installation, it wears out, gets wrapped around the cable, and causes more driveline drag.... ;)