PDA

View Full Version : prop walk help

shannon87
09-02-2010, 04:03 AM
most you prob already know im getting a 3060kv motor and 90 amp esc combo and i need help 2 fix the future problems with the boat torqueing to the right or prop walk as im new to this im still learning also purchasing an octura x438 prop to hopefully gainin more water pick up points ruduce this any other suggestions would be welcome i was thing bout chenging the rudder set up to fast electric specs and may b adding larger trim tabs im not really concerned about drag as id rather more stabilty than absolute top speed and added water pick ups i am getting inspiration from watching jessej's video on you tube with his rio ep which is absolutely awesome i wish i had the skills to do something like that but i dont lol but i would like to have a dual rudder set up but if its better to run an offset rudder to combat the torque steer then thats wat ill do coz jessej's boat even though its got wicked power its pretty stable anyways ay suggestions for this newbie would b greatly appreciated

Jesse J
09-02-2010, 10:02 AM
Again, please do us (at least me) a favor; use punctuation! Newb or not, you can use the shift key and little marks buttons on your keyboard.

As for torque roll, another variable that may play into why mine suffers it less: prop depth. As you noticed I added an adjustable strut where I can raise and lower it. The stock boat exits the prop a little low, thus the tendency to run wet and have enhanced torque roll. You can either redo the stuffing tube raising it 1/8-14" or simpler add an adjustable strut. I don't believe dual vs. single rudder will do much for torque roll - I went single for 1) less drag, and 2) upgrade hardware quality. Also, be sure your prop is very sharp, well balanced and smooth (there are multiple schools of thought on polish, so up to you) but you definitely don't want to slap a raw prop on there as this WILL add to your torque roll problem.