PDA

View Full Version : Dual drives & individual throttle option

JPriami
08-23-2010, 11:35 PM
Took me some time to sit and think about this since I’ve never done it before on a boat. Nor have I heard of anyone doing it. So i didn’t have anyone else’s ideas to go off of. Just my own
Still working on this dual drives and individual controlling of both. Did some test in the water today but it was in a small pond where I have to keep it in a circle most all the time. But it did prove I can turn sharper. So that leads me to keep on with it. Tonight I have it setup a little different for tomorrows run. I plan on going to a lake where I have more room.

Setup is as follows for anyone else wanting to try it.
Using an 8ch radio with 6 custom program mixes and a one or two of the default ones.
I have also modified the radio by removing the ratcheting from the throttle and spring loaded it so that both sticks are spring loaded to stay in the center position when released. This is also a safety so that if the control stick are released the boat stops.

Each stick being pushed upwards is an individual throttle for a motor. Left-hand stick up/vertical (aircraft throttle) is for the left motor and the right-hand stick up/vertical (aircraft elevator) is for the right motor. Or I can flip one switch (A) and either one of the sticks up/vertical will drive both motors simultaneously.

Next programed switch (B) makes it possible to steer the boat by individually controlling each motor using the right-hand sticks horizontal/left & right (aircraft aileron) control. And you can still give normal forward throttle movements with the left-hand or the right-hand stick up/vertical (aircraft throttle/elevator) control using switch (A). Or give them manually by moving each throttle stick with switch (A) off