PDA

View Full Version : Question on Storing Lipos

Visual Perfection
06-21-2010, 12:17 PM
I just bought some used 2s 4900mah 20c Lipos and the previous owner shipped them to me charged and balanced.

I REALLY want to test them out in my Shockwave 26 brushless however I do not have my charger/balancer yet.

Will it be okay to use them for like 5 minutes each or less (stop use well before LVC kicks in) and then store them without charging for a couple weeks while I wait for my charger? What if I run them down to the LVC?

Just dont want to do something wrong since I am completely new to Lipos and would hate to ruin them before I can fully enjoy them so trying to find out how they can be stored for a few weeks at a time.

Thanks!

RaceMechaniX
06-21-2010, 12:26 PM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Hold off and wait till you have a charger and balancer.

Lipo's need to be stored around 50~60% SOC to keep them healthy. Leaving them near their lower limit will detiorate them bad especially if left alone for weeks.

Tyler

Visual Perfection
06-21-2010, 01:03 PM
well crap...that means I cant even see if they work for a few weeks. 20 days to be more exact..

However, after reading what you just said...If they give 10 minutes of run time, and they are now fully charged...why is 2-3 minutes going to hurt..that would bring it down to 70-80% so they would be stored just fine wouldn't they?

RaceMechaniX
06-21-2010, 01:14 PM
Do so at your own risk. Are you certain the batteries were fully charged and not just "50% store charged"? You can use a multimeter to check the pack voltage, but still I would hold off on running the boat till you have a charger and balancer. For a 2S pack you can pick up a cheap balancing charger under $50.

Visual Perfection
06-21-2010, 01:19 PM
Yup I have a charger already picked out..a Thunder AC6...I asked for it as a b-day gift though thats why I have to wait 20 days lol