PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ? How to charge lipos

rcjrboatman
06-17-2010, 12:53 PM
I'm new to charging lipos but not to FE boats. When charging lipos, what gets plugged into charger first? The battery plug or the balancing plug? What am I supposed to look for when charging? This is the setup I have bought used but with no instructions. From what I've heard they can catch fire and certainly don't want to do that. I have lipo bags to charge in too. Can someone give me the correct procedure on charging? Thanks

sailr
06-17-2010, 02:16 PM
Be careful of that Astro 109 charger. The early ones had a bad habit of jumping the cell count and burning down houses, cars, etc. You have to WATCH it constantly to be sure it doesn't increase the cell count beyond what the pack has. For example, you may be charging a 3S pack and all of a sudden the charger decides it's a 4S and starts shoving way too many volts into it!

Astro fixed the problem with the newer chargers (last year or so). If yours is older than that or you bought it used, I highly recommend going to www.astroflight.com and getting the latest 'chip' for your charger!

sailr
06-17-2010, 02:19 PM
Plug in the balance tap first and then the main battery leads. Not sure, but plugging in the other way might confuse the Astro charger. Either way, NEVER leave lipos unattended while charging. Stop and feel the pack once in a while to be sure it's not getting hot. The Astro 109 goes through 3 phases of charge, Constant Voltage, Constant Current, and then averaging or something like that. Watch that the cell count does not change when the phase changes. VERY IMPORTANT. Refer to my previous post.