PDA

View Full Version : How many days do you keep your lipos at full charge?

MLJones8
04-27-2010, 10:32 PM
So I'm still learning about these lipo batteries... I know I've read in the off season to keep them at about 3.9-3.8 volts. But what about during the season?

If you plan on running your boat every week or once every two weeks, do you keep your lipos at full charge, or only charge them a day before?

bigwaveohs
04-27-2010, 10:57 PM
Charge them to 50% for storage and charge them to 95% the night before you use them...they will last longer.

m4a1usr
04-27-2010, 11:07 PM
So I'm still learning about these lipo batteries... I know I've read in the off season to keep them at about 3.9-3.8 volts. But what about during the season?

If you plan on running your boat every week or once every two weeks, do you keep your lipos at full charge, or only charge them a day before?

I keep all my packs at a pretty much full charge during the 7 to 8 months out of the year (no real harsh winters here to keep me off the lakes) But I do take them down to 3.5 volts for the remainder of the year where they sit on the shelf. Discharged cells, down to a certain voltage,do not degrade cell capacity. Its taking them below that level and leaving them there that promotes chemical degradation. Then you cannot recover from the electrolyte depletion. Remember you are essentialy suspending neg ions in chemical bonds.

John

MLJones8
04-27-2010, 11:19 PM
Charge them to 50% for storage and charge them to 95% the night before you use them...they will last longer.

This seems to be the common reply, meaning if my lipos are 2S 7.4 volts, then to store each cell at (7.4/2)=3.7 volts. I guess my question could have been worded more directly. What defines storage? A day? A week?