PDA

View Full Version : Scotts E-thundercat build

forescott
02-21-2010, 10:34 AM
Hi all, I have been thinking about doing brushless proboat thundercat build for a while. I like the look of the hull, and I wanted a hull big enough to possibly hit 50mph. Also this is my first build, so I wanted someyhing relatively easy as the t-cat already has useable hardware. So I finally got enough money together to get the parts I need. Found a used boat from hobb-e-mart. Bought a new castle 1515 1Y. OSE water jacket. Turnigy 180 on the way, and a few other parts. I am kinda stuck as to whether I should leave the wood stringers and use a "between the rails" motor mount, or remove most of the wood stringers and moun the motor directly to the bottom of the hull. I actually bought both mounts. But the one pictured seems kinda small and am afraid it is a little to weak to handle the torque of the castle motor. Any thoughts or ideas??:confused2:

forescott
02-21-2010, 10:47 AM
I have also had a little time to work on sealing up the holes on the hatch. I found some thin plastic at home depot and cut some pieces to fit over the two intake holes, the two small outlet holes, as well as the radio antenna hole on the top of the hatch. I used epoxy made for plastic to bond the pieces to the hatch from underneath, and also reinforced the tabs that hold the front part of the hatch in place. The hatch is thin plastic and pretty flimsy. I don't know how it will hold up in a crash, but I think i'm gonna just tape it up as best as I can for now.

Steven Vaccaro
02-21-2010, 11:20 PM
The mount is plenty strong for the motor. But the hull bottom may not be thick enough for it. Rail mounts do a good job at distributing the weight of the heavy motors over a larger area.

lomdel
02-22-2010, 09:16 AM
Good luck with the build! :popcorn2: I did a conversion a while ago as well : http://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/showthread.php?t=5727 . A few suggestions based on what you already did :