PDA

View Full Version : 1/16 shovel nose issues

befu
02-07-2010, 09:29 PM
Math problem
1/16 shovel nose hydro + one new Foster child = 1/32 shovel nose + 1/32 shovel tail!

Well, I guess I should have been more specific on what not to play with. I got my kit for Christmas and started to build it. this happened awhile back, already have a solution and will be posting that in a few days! Oh-well, when you get lemons make lemonade.

screwball
02-07-2010, 09:47 PM
what happened did he cut it in half with a saw?!?!?!?!

Rumdog
02-07-2010, 09:54 PM
Did he try to use the shovel nose as a shovel?

befu
02-07-2010, 11:12 PM
I hadn't yet removed the center section of the middle bulkhead, so it made a nice clean split right there. Oh-well, live and learn huh?

For what these kids go through, something like this just reminds me that I am happy to have stuff to break!

That and as an engineer, I love problems to solve! Of course, with 5 kids in the house from 4 to 9, the "daddy can fix it" box never goes empty! More later on this one.

Brian

domwilson
02-07-2010, 11:23 PM
For what these kids go through, something like this just reminds me that I am happy to have stuff to break!

That and as an engineer, I love problems to solve! Of course, with 5 kids in the house from 4 to 9, the "daddy can fix it" box never goes empty! More later on this one.

Brian

I like your attitude! Maybe you two can fix it together.

befu
02-10-2010, 09:55 PM
OK, just got done tacking the two halves together with some CA. Will epoxy all the way around the edges to bond it, then trim them flush. Some expanding foam in the sponsons and nose to stiffin that up, and I think it will work.

I did use to much kevlar and carbon though, it is overly strong and seems heavy to me. right now it is tipping the scales at 10 oz, so I figure joined and foamed, should be around 12 oz. Not sure what the wood one would have weighed.