PDA

View Full Version : Watercooling a Turnigy Monster 2000

CornelP
02-03-2010, 01:16 PM
I started playing around with the ESC tonight, trying to find a good solution to water cool without disassembling...
Half an hour later, with a bit of brass sheet and tube, I came up with this idea.
The brass sheets will actually be covered with epoxy (top and both ends). I am waiting for a couple of special epoxies, but being hazardous materials, delivery is 30-60 days :cursing:
I have the option to connect the two sides in series or parallel: which one would you recommend? Parallel has the advantage to ensure no air is trapped.
The whole thing will also have a 50x50mm fan on top and the bottom plate will get replaced by a brass plate with a tube spiral soldered on it (a bit too much, I think).
Waiting for ideas...

BTW, this will probably get connected to a KD 45 (also with custom watercooling)... bought before reading Steve's reviews...:crying:

m4a1usr
02-03-2010, 01:46 PM
Interesting idea of running the water in direct contact with the alum sinks already in place. About as effective as its gonna get. You are creative. :thumbup:

John

FloatDaBoat
02-03-2010, 03:08 PM
Direct water contact with the heat sinks is an excellent idea; you might end up with a leakage problem, though. Using rectangular tubing in place of the strips might be a safer route . . . .

Steven Vaccaro
02-03-2010, 03:10 PM
I started playing around with the ESC tonight, trying to find a good solution to water cool without disassembling...
Half an hour later, with a bit of brass sheet and tube, I came up with this idea.
The brass sheets will actually be covered with epoxy (top and both ends). I am waiting for a couple of special epoxies, but being hazardous materials, delivery is 30-60 days :cursing:
I have the option to connect the two sides in series or parallel: which one would you recommend? Parallel has the advantage to ensure no air is trapped.