PDA

View Full Version : GPS Speed Recording for Micro FE Boats.

questtek
01-05-2010, 05:02 PM
While several different GPS speed monitoring systems exist for most moderate to large FE’s, (Eagle Tree, Garmin, etc), they are generally way too large to be used in a micro FE. However, I am now using an ultra-miniature stand-alone GPS system that weighs a mere 14 grams and is a small fraction of the size of currently available units. It may be the perfect companion for any micro FE.

This GPS module is now being used for ocean current monitoring experiments around the Palm Islands and The World project in Dubai where I am a marine science consultant. Ocean field proven, it has performed flawlessly in the several months that I have been testing it on micro FE’s specifically the tiny 14” long carbon fiber Starship. When I more than doubled the motor size to enhance performance in this black beast, the available room for a standard GPS unit was nil. However the 14-gram Micro-GPS module fits perfect inside the white fiberglass top canopy. (Since Carbon Fiber will block GPS reception I am using a fiberglass canopy in place of the original carbon fiber canopy.)

This micro GPS turns out to be the “Fisherman’s Scale” of true measurement when trying to “guess-t-mate” speed on a small FE. Because of their tiny size they appear to be going faster than what they really are…. which is why I have seen some outrageous, but totally unverified, speed estimates. In short, the micro GPS is the truth serum for tiny FE speed data.