PDA

View Full Version : Newbie getting a Lehner 1950/4 LK.

nosybody
12-21-2009, 12:56 AM
Hi, I'm new to RC boating and just placed an order for a Lehner 1950/4 LK for my Hydro Stealth Outrigger by MHZ. The hydro is designed for 12-16 cells Sub C and Ultra 920-8 or Viper 700, or brushless (or glow plug up to 3.5 cc).

What is the maximum voltages I can safely push to the limit without risk of damaging my motor? I don't see any specs from Lehner site about voltage range for the 1950/4 motor. The winding was based on 14,4volt, 120A, at 45000rpm = 1950/4 LK. The LK is for the new added air-cooling fan inside the motor.

I've emailed Lehner information about this hydro and they recommeded the 1950/4 for use with 4 LiPo. I like to see if I have any room to push higher voltages but not too much and risk damaging my $450 USD or 315.261 EUR (aircooling-version) & WK S 19 (watercooling series 19) new motor which is being built for me at their plant in Germany right now.

I was planing to use 2 packs of A123 Systems 4600mAh 6.6V 2S2P Lithium-ion LiFePo4 Battery together or just stick with the LiPo 5200mAh 4-Cell/4S 14.8V at 50C. Not sure about the pros and cons between the Thunder Power's 50C Lipo vs A123's 30C LiFePo4.

A123 Systems 4600mAh 6.6V 2S2P Lithium-ion LiFePo4 Battery
2S2P 4600mAh
Voltage : 6.6V x 2 packs = 13.2V
Max C-rate cont. : 30C
Max C-rate pulse : 60C
Max Current cont. : 69A
Max Current pulse : 138A

Thunder Power G4 Pro Race 50C Series Lipo Batteries
TP5200-4SPR50
5200mAh 4-Cell/4S
Voltage : 14.8V
Max Charge : 6C
Max Cont. Discharge : 50C
Max Burst Discharge : 100C
Max Chg. Current : 31.2A
Max Cont. Current : 260A
Max Burst Current : 520A

tth
12-24-2009, 12:57 PM