PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

AtlRookie
09-22-2009, 09:22 AM
I searched the forum ( and I am sure I missed it ) so please forgive me in advance if this has been previously covered. I just purchased a Miss Elam Brushless and being a total newbie was curious as to what type of lipo fits in the boat well and is a good all round battery? I will not be racing the boat, just running it for fun. I dont want something that I have to stop every minute to check temps etc, I just want something that will make the boat a little faster but still very usable. Should I stick with nimh batteries? Or should I go with Lipo? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I guess I basically want to know if its worth it to upgrade to lipos and maybe a prop or should I just leave the boat alone!

Jesse J
10-11-2009, 12:37 PM
You will definitely notice performance increase with lipos. I use Rhino packs from Hobbyking. I would recommend getting two 2S and two 3S. I have converted a nitro version and still use the proboat motor. You can safely use 4S (2S in series) and I use an X642 prop. I did kinda redo the boat, here is a joint build thread with bustit. I documented my mods:
http://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/showthread.php?t=7672&highlight=elam

The last time I took her out I put 6S in (two 3S in series) and she did 58mph. Still Proboat motor and X642 prop, but with a little bigger ESC, a turnigy 100amp HV (you can get one for around $100). I have heard that the Proboat esc can handle 5S and 6S and with this knowledge I have since burned up 3 of these ESCs (I did not disable the internal BEC). If you decide to try that, reduce your motor timing to low.

As far as your batteries, definitely get a pair of 2S and if you can also a pair of 3S, that way you can try 4S 5S and 6S combinations.

Personally, I would suggest revamping the drive line and adding an adjustable strut, it doesn't have to be bearingized, but it isn't much more:
http://www.rcraceboat.com/