PDA

View Full Version : Would you recommend a SV 27?

evofan74
08-04-2007, 07:12 PM
Hey guys just wanted to know if some of you SV 27 owners could chime in on all the pros and cons of the boat. I am thinking of getting one. I am fairly new to RC and very new to RC Boats. I have a Villain EX that has been fairly problem free for 3 months. I really like it. I run deans plugs and added motor cooling too. I run it on two custom made 7cell 4200 packs and it really flies without much heat. Handling is ok but it could be better.

I want another boat but I don't want to spend much more than what the SV costs. I know there are many advantages for brushless and I was hoping someone could compare the SV with a Villain EX if they own both or have driven them, radio; esc; motor; driveline; handling etc... Thanks!

aqua man
08-04-2007, 09:07 PM
SV will be ALOT faster than even a modded villain. IMO The villain hull is too big and heavy for 540 motors, and the steerible outdrives rob a ton of power. It is a cool boat though, but is has as many limiting factors as it has neet features.
The only thing i would say the villain could do better than a sv is handle ruff water.
just my 2 cents though.

Mich. Maniac
08-04-2007, 09:56 PM
That is a complicated question to answer. I am happy with the one I have. I got it for my wife so we could race. my boat blows it outta the water but its still tons of fun!

evofan74
08-04-2007, 10:08 PM
Thanks Aqua Man. What other boat do you have Mich?

ozboater
08-04-2007, 11:41 PM
i am a complete RC virgin... had my SV for about 3- 4 months now... i love it... runs great and i d highly recommend one... a friend of mine has a villian ex... he bought it here to the local lake and ran it with my sv and a mates om21... the next time he came back he had an sv27 :)...

i don t think you d be dissapointed..

Jeepers
08-04-2007, 11:51 PM
I race against 3 of them, tuned well they offer tough competition! for the cost you cant go wrong!!!!

evofan74